Some parting thoughts

Hi all.

I’m a relatively new player, having started playing the skirmish and main galaxy a couple of months ago, but not really getting any further than a small time bit of empire management, mostly just building spreadsheets, without really engaging in any PVP. That changed when I joined the Awaken the Dark galaxy, initially just with the intent to mess around a little bit.

As I am writing this, I am rank #1 Grand Emperor, Master of Warfare, and Industrialist in this galaxy with at least a 20% margin on all scores. So, perfect time for me to quit the game, as clearly it has taken up way to much of time to the point where it’s become detrimental to my personal life.

Before I leave however, I wanted to leave you all with some thoughts and the devs with some general notes I’ve been keeping on game since I started playing. I’m a veteran of many MMO style games, having played them since the beginning of 2000 often times at the highest level. As such, I feel at least a little bit qualified to give these remarks.

First off, let me start with some commentary on the community. This game draws heavy parallels to the game Planetarion, which was a game I played intensely around 2000. Obviously there are many differences, but the basic gist is the same: a round the clock space themed game in which you have to expand and defend your empire with a heavy focus on PVP. As such, I’ve found parallels in the way the community is developing as well. Because of the amount of time and effort we put in our empires, losing (parts of) them is a such heavy blow that it’s almost personal. Spycraft and subterfuge also become real elements to success at the top level, which can amount to personal fallout and feelings of betrayal.