Moving Native Pops and Other Ideas

Hey all,

I started playing the Pre-Beta galaxy on August 11, and so far I’m enjoying the game immensely. Yes, it’s a long haul game, but the exploration, development, and idea of playing with other real players is something I enjoy so far. It was worth waiting for a key. :slight_smile:

The following are some of my ideas on improvement. First, regarding native pops such as the Evolvians, Valkyries, etc., the desire to move these native pops has been brought up in chat, but there is currently no way to do so ingame. I understand that it could be abused if not handled correctly, so my suggestion is this. As each player civ (and native civ) has certain environmental requirements, make each native pop follow their environmental requirements. ie, I can’t take Akrokkens and move them to my Syntis homeworld without killing them all. Worlds must be terraformed to make them more habitable for native pops you desire to move. This would make it so you can’t simply pick them up and drop them off. Additionally, you cannot put more than two pop types on a planet. This is the current limit it seems, and it should remain the same to prevent people from piling everyone into their planets and making “super” planets. With both limits of two types of pops and requiring environmental standards based on types (both of which are already ingame), we can move pops around in a believable way.

Another quick point on moving populations. To also make it harder to move pops, you could create different personnel modules you must research to move pop types. Back to Syntis and Akrokken, I can’t use a Syntis personnel module to move Akrokken, and vice versa. So not only do you need terraforming tech to move native pops, you need unique personnel module techs to do so.